MilesWeb
MilesWeb Hosting Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

 

News:

SMF - Just Installed!


Author Topic: Domain change issue.  (Read 4395 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Trisha

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Domain change issue.
« on: August 11, 2016, 12:12:39 PM »
Hi...
I am using the domain abc.com for my website, now I want to change it to xyz.com

I am facing problem in changing the domain. Can anyone tell me where I am getting wrong?

I have created record for xyz.comand its pointing to the IP address of abc.com.  The domain is registered elsewhere.

After that I changed word press site url under general settings from abc.com to xyz.com.

But now whenever I visit xyz.com it says: - the requested url was not found on this server.

Am I missing anything?

MilesWeb Hosting Forum

Domain change issue.
« on: August 11, 2016, 12:12:39 PM »

Offline EKTA TRIPATHI

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
    • MilesWeb Internet Service
Re: Domain change issue.
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2016, 12:30:25 PM »
On your webhosting site you need to add:-

Add xyz.com domain name through addon domain names (if cpanel is used) or create new account if you have WHM.

Adjust redirect from abc.com domain name to xyz.com domain name and make sure xyz.com has proper NS.
█ MilesWeb.com - Your Hosting, Our Responsibility!
Reseller Hosting @ Rs 399/mo - Unlimited SSD Storage and Bandwidth | cPanel-WHM
24x7 Support | 99.95% Uptime

Offline Maneet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Domain change issue.
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2016, 01:29:10 PM »
If you do not add second domain as add on domain on cpanel/server of your first domain the server will not resolve it. So replace second domain as an add on domain to first domain than you will find good way to go.

Offline Saaina

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Domain change issue.
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2016, 02:04:04 PM »
I used domain aliases and itís worked!
Just a few questions which I have:-
I created a record then I changed the url settings in wordpress general setting of new website. Then I created add on domain. Is this a proper way to do this or I should switch to another method or change setting in wordpress general setting of new website and create a new record? Does it matter?
And also can I delete old domain abc.com from my host .because I donít want same website showing for abc.com and xyz.com.
Suggest me a better way to ensure that emails settings remain unchanged.

Offline EKTA TRIPATHI

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 217
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
    • MilesWeb Internet Service
Re: Domain change issue.
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2016, 03:16:52 PM »
Domain alias is what cPanel now calls parked domains- itís where alias/parked domain loads same content as main domain (basically it points at public html).
As far as email Ė you need to change main domain rather than aliasing the domain or delete and re-create all of email accounts.
Your hosting provider will do this for you Ėespecially if you are having shared plan.
█ MilesWeb.com - Your Hosting, Our Responsibility!
Reseller Hosting @ Rs 399/mo - Unlimited SSD Storage and Bandwidth | cPanel-WHM
24x7 Support | 99.95% Uptime

Offline Maneet

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 123
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Domain change issue.
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2016, 05:24:15 PM »
Do one thing contact your web hosting provider . They will help you in abetter way.